Kids in Glass Houses farewell tour – 12/10/14 Sheffield Corporation

Who would have thought that when I saw this band supporting Paramore and New Found Glory a whole SIX years ago, that I would end up seeing them again now and sadly, for the final time.

I turned up to Corp, (which I should mention, seemed surprisingly less disgusting with a good band playing) to find a packed out venue of all ages, with the nostalgia of people’s teenage years arguably leading them to come and see these guys play one last time.

Opening with Artbreaker I – I was reminded straight away how great Kids in Glass Houses are live. Aled is one of the lucky few musicians that sound equally as good when performing live- if not better!

Three songs in was when the audience really livened up however, screaming back the words to: ‘Give me what I want’, the bands second single from 2008.

Aled toyed with the crowds emotions throughout the evening, shouting out – “Has anyone seen us live before!?” which had the majority of the audience screaming in agreement, only to follow it up with “well you won’t be seeing us again…” oh.

The setlist they played was perfect, with a mixture of songs which included their duet with Frankie Sandford: ‘Undercover Lover’, and ‘Easy Tiger’. Admittedly I hadn’t listened to their most recent album very much, really wanting to go and see the band whose music I fell in love with all those years ago, so I was pleased.

Slowing things down after ‘Raise Hell’ the band went into The morning Afterlife, resulting in a beautiful sing-a-long.

Kicking off their four song encore with ‘Peace’ – a track from their latest album, KIGH soon went back to their roots and sent the crowd wild with their performance of ‘Saturday,’ and ended the show on ‘Matters At All’, making sure to thank their fans and wishing them a (repeated) goodnight for the very last time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Live music

Leave a comment