Sheffield headphone disco vs. The Leadmill

First things first, if you are a student in Sheffield and you didn’t attend this event then I’m sorry to say it but WHY?
It was seriously the best night out I’ve had in ages.

For those who don’t know, a headphone disco (or silent disco) is one where you turn up, pay a small refundable deposit for your headphones and then dance the night away in an otherwise silent club. There are two DJ’s which in this case were Leadmill’s indie vs. chart/pop, which you can switch as you please on your headphones to choose what you’re listening to.

My only experience of one of these parties was in Magaluf last year, and you’d think that would be hard to beat but trust me, after getting there we realised it was in a tiny club, and this along with the fact we hadn’t yet taken full advantage of our free bar when our friend goes and cuts his finger open meant that we chose to leave anyway.

Back to the point, so why was this such a good night? The music was just so good; from The Beatles and The Beach boys to One direction and Nicki Minaj, there was something for everyone. It was so varied that there was never a moment where you didn’t love or know at least one of the songs. One of the best songs that I remember coming on was ‘Queen – Bohemian Rhapsody’ which as you can imagine was a popular one. The atmosphere was awesome, and when you remove your headphones you can see which DJ is winning by what the loudest sing a long is. 

I even remembered to record a few short audio clips for my blog so you can hear that it sounded a little like this…

As you can hear, there’s usually a clear winner in song popularity but definitely had a bit of competition coming from my friends trying to out sing me with their Rita Ora on the other channel. We even had the popular freshers anthem ‘Million Voices’ by Otto Knows, which certainly had everyone going crazy singing those oh so difficult to remember lyrics of ‘Eh eh eh eh eh, ah ah ah ah ah’ for an entire song.

So anyway, if you’re hitting any festivals this summer or hear about anywhere holding a silent disco I highly recommend it, I’ve only been to V festival myself and they didn’t have one but this year I’m going to Leeds fest so it’s definitely not gonna be something I miss!

Leave a comment

Filed under Club nights, Uncategorized

Leave a comment